Are Snapchat Memories private?

The privacy of Snapchat Memories and the role of the My Eyes Only feature in keeping certain snaps and stories completely private, regardless of people seeing your memories.

Overview

One of the coolest features of some social media platforms is how they can collect all the data of your activity on their respective apps and keep it for you to be able to look back on. Facebook is known to show users their memories as well as Snapchat.

When these social media platforms share your memories with you, some might wonder if they are private or whether your community of friends on the app can also see your memories. In the case of Snapchat, the question around memories is whether they are public or kept private.

Snapchat Memories

Snapchat first introduced Snapchat Memories in 2016, moving it away from being just a self-destructing photos and videos platform.

In a way, Snapchat Memories introduced competition for Facebook which had adopted sharing memories with users in private, and users choosing to share them on their pages publicly.

In the case of Snapchat, however, you get to choose what you want to store as memories, as you can save your Snaps and Stories to Memories.

To find your Memories, swiping up from the camera roll screen will open them. In addition to being stored, they can also be sent to friends.

Are Snapchat Memories private?

Just like with Facebook, your Snapchat Memories are private and not visible to anyone else, not even your Snapchat friends.

The only way that others will be able to see your Memories, is if you actually share them by posting them to your Stories or as a Snap, with the only other way being if you give someone access to view and go through your camera roll.

In some cases, you might give someone access to your camera roll, and there might be a Snap or a few that you definitely do not want people to see.

In this case, Snapchat has the My Eyes Only feature, which will categorise Stories separately keeping Snaps and Stories for your eyes only separate from other Memories.

The My Eyes Only album is completely private, so even when people see your Memories, the album is not accessible.

How to save Snaps and Stories to Memories

Saving your Snaps and Stories to memories is very simple. Before sending a Snap to a friend or posting it to your story, you will need to select the Save button at the bottom of the screen.

This will automatically save the Snaps to Memories. Another way of doing this is by pressing and holding the Download button, as well as the option to Save to Camera Roll and Memories.

If your story is already viewable, you can still save it to Memories by navigating to Stories and clicking Save, which is next to My Story.

How to create new Stories from Memories

Memories are great because you get to go back to them and create new Stories again. This is an especially good feature if you happen to have taken a lot of Snaps from a certain time, that you can now compile and put together into one new story.

To do this, you need to click the Select button in the top right and choose the Snaps you want to put together. Clicking the circular plus button at the bottom of the screen will ensure that a new story is created with your Snaps.

Understanding the Memories tab

For users to be able to use the Memories feature properly, they will need to understand the tab and how it works.

When users open up Memories, they will see a reverse sequential list of their saved Snaps and Stories. Snaps will be displayed as rectangles and Stories as circles.

Snapchatters can also search for specific Snaps and stories if they want to share and send them to their Stories, by clicking on the Search button in the top-left.

The Search feature will also look into locations as well as recognisable objects, along with words used in captions.

Conclusion

Having social media apps save your old posts for you to use later is a great feature for users to look back on and share again with their followers and friends. Facebook and Snapchat are offering users this feature by letting them re-share some of their best created memories

When it comes to Snapchat, users are able to also specifically choose which Snaps and Stories they would like to store in their Memories. This feature allows them to share their Snaps again later, with another feature called My Eyes Only, which allows users to keep certain memories absolutely private.