Has Snapchat been deleting accounts?

What enables Snapchat to delete accounts, can inactive accounts be deleted and what can users do if their accounts are deleted by Snapchat?

Overview

Snapchat as a social media tool is very popular. Users are using it to create what the platform has dubbed as snaps, which they can post to their stories and share with other users who they are following, as well as to engage via Snapchat messaging.

Most people join Snapchat with the hopes of being active on the platform. So, some people might wonder what would cause Snapchat to delete an account, as users have noticed that this is something that occurs on the platform.

Snapchat deleting accounts

Snapchat can resort to deleting an account for a few reasons. It is important to note that Snapchat will never simply delete an account for no reason at all, unless this is caused by something else beyond their control.

Typically, when Snapchat decides to delete a user’s account, they have a pretty good reason as to why and therefore hold the power to do so.

There are some reasons as to why this could end up being the case for people who want to understand why Snapchat has been deleting accounts.

Has Snapchat been deleting accounts?

A social media account can be deleted for a number of reasons, and one of them is if an account has been inactive for a long period of time. This can be the case if it is part of the platform’s policies. In the case of Snapchat, it will only seek to delete an account if it has violated its terms and conditions in any way.

This is why you find that upon signing up for a social media platform, you need to agree to some terms and conditions of service and violating them after agreeing to abide by them can cause Snapchat to delete your account.

Users can also delete their own accounts when they no longer wish to use them. It is also worth noting that an account can be locked, as opposed to being deleted.

So, can Snapchat delete inactive accounts?

When it comes to leaving your Snapchat account inactive for a long period of time, Snapchat will not necessarily resort to deleting your account on your behalf.

It does not seem like Snapchat has a policy in place that stipulates that the platform can delete an account if it has been inactive. When users sign up for Snapchat, they actually are registered to Snapchat indefinitely.

So even when a person dies and their account has not been deleted beforehand, it will remain registered to Snapchat. Therefore, there is no need for users to worry themselves.

How Snapchat deletes fake accounts

In the event that an account is fake, it is possible that it will be reported, either by the original user or other people if it is found to be causing problems.

When an account is reported or deemed as fake, Snapchat will lock it and eventually delete it, unless you as the creator are able to prove its legitimacy.

Fake accounts can often be associated with illegal activities, such as identity theft as well as malicious content. In most cases where this is happening, Snapchat will delete accounts.

What can you do if Snapchat deletes your account?

In the case that you have your account deleted and it should not have been, you will need to get in contact with Snapchat Customer Support, and request that they restore your account for you, by proving that it has been deleted by mistake or for no valid reason.

Users also need to be aware that when an account has been deleted, it can be difficult to have it restored and in some cases impossible, so you should not anticipate getting it back.

Conclusion

Social media accounts are created by people to enjoy and put to good use, as they socially interact and put themselves out there. Some platforms can, however, end up deleting their users accounts for valid reasons that are either stipulated in their policies or for other justifiable reasons.

For Snapchat to decide to delete an account, it could be for a number of reasons, including a user having violated the terms and conditions they had agreed not to violate, or if an account is proven to be fake amongst others. However, restoring a permanently deleted account can be almost impossible.