How to block an Etsy seller

How to block an Etsy seller, an Etsy buyer, and deal with receiving messages and orders from people you have blocked, since blocking still allows messages.

Overview

Etsy is a popular online marketplace whereby people can sell a range of unique items that cater to specific markets such as thrifty, vintage, and arts and crafts buyers. Sellers with businesses that make these handmade items can open an Etsy shop and sell their items online.

In the case where you may not be interested in a particular shop and its products for reasons such as the shop selling knock-off items, you may want to know whether it is possible to block a shop and Etsy sellers from appearing as an option when you are shopping.

Blocking an Etsy seller

If you want to block an Etsy member or seller because you are or have been experiencing an issue with them that you feel you no longer want to deal with, the best option is to block them. Etsy sellers can block buyers, but can an Etsy buyer block an Etsy seller?

There could be various reasons for wanting this, such as not wanting to see the shop’s listings, being spammed, or because a seller’s items are not genuine.

How to block an Etsy seller

Blocking an Etsy seller is as simple as a few clicks on their profile. It is not difficult to block a seller on Etsy and all you need to do is click on the name of the seller which will lead you to their profile where you can then scroll all the way down until you see the Block this person option.

You need to click on this to officially block the seller. Blocking an Etsy seller means they will no longer be able to follow you or message you through your profile.

You will get this as a warning before you proceed to block the seller, confirming that all contact from them will not be authorised. To unblock the seller, you can follow the same steps, only this time you should select “Unblock this person” to proceed.

Can you block an Etsy buyer?

It is possible to block an Etsy buyer, but not completely. Etsy allows you to block a buyer, but blocking them does not mean they will not be able to send you messages or order from you.

This might not make logical sense since blocking someone is meant to completely deny them access to you, but blocking a buyer on Etsy will only prevent or stop them from following your shop and your shop’s activity.

They are still, however, able to go through your shop, send you messages, and order items from your shop.

How to block a person on the Etsy mobile app

The Etsy app will work differently when you need to block a seller or buyer. When you tap on their name, the app may not pull up the buyer or seller’s profile immediately.

You will need to scroll all the way down to the bottom of the screen and tap on the Full Profile option for it to fully open, allowing you to scroll all the way down the user’s profile again until you reach the Block this person option. You should proceed by clicking on this option.

How to handle still getting messages from a blocked user

Although there is not much you can do about still receiving messages from a blocked buyer, there are certain things you can do to possibly stop them from messaging you.

If you are dealing with orders from buyers that you no longer wish to sell to, you can simply cancel their orders upon notification of the order.

To deal with constant messages from blocked users, you can simply not engage with them and ignore them completely or politely send them a final message informing them that you will no longer respond.

Final thoughts

Etsy is a unique online marketplace where people can sell a variety of cute handmade arts and crafts and vintage items. People can open Etsy stores and sell items to their target market, but there may be cases where business can soar and blocking people is likely.

To block an Etsy seller, you need to click on their name to be directed to their online profile. You then need to scroll down until you reach the Block option where you can officially block them. They will no longer have access to your activity once they are blocked.